St. Patrick’s School, Iboko Offot wins 2019 School Debate Competition.

Friday, December 20th, 2019 | News

St. Patrick’s School, Iboko Offot, Uyo has emerged winner in the 2019 President School debate Nigeria, State finals competition for public primary schools in Akwa Ibom.
To emerge winner, St. Patrick’s School defeated 12 other schools from across the State, which debated on two topics; “Female teachers are more diligent and caring than male teachers” and “The use of organic manure is more suitable in crop production than inorganic manure”.

The competition, sponsored by the Universal Basic Education Commission with the support of Akwa Ibom State Government, was the 12th edition of the competition. It started with the 12 finalists making it through the Local Government and Senatorial District levels.

Speaking at the finals of the competition, the Executive Chairman, State Universal Basic Education Board, Prof Maria Ikorok noted that the exercise was aimed at promoting the quality of learning, harmony among youths, practical skills in public speaking and nurturing the culture of dialogue in conflict resolution.
Prof Ikorok who was represented by Board Member 2, Bishop Ime Ekpe, maintained that the goals of the event have been significantly achieved, as exhibited by the superlative performance by the pupils.

Rep. AK-SUBEB, Board Member 2, Bishop Ime Ekpe addressing the gathering

She reasoned that with the level of performance by the pupils, they could conveniently compete at national and international competitions.
The overall winner, a pupil of St. Patrick’s school, Iboko Offot, Uyo, Miss Iniobong Effiong, who commended the organisers of the debate for the exposure, expressed happiness for emerging the winner and attributed her success to hard work.,

Pupil, St. Patrick’s School, Iboko Offot, Miss Iniobong Effiong arguing out her points.

High point of the exercise was the presentation of gifts such as palm top computers, school bags, books, writing materials, flasks and other items to winners, runners up and teachers of participating schools.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.